top of page
Search

ah what the heck am I doin'

It's currently 11:24 & I decided a couple hours ago to start a blog.. so, obviously, here we are. I'd be lying if I told you this was a decision out of nowhere. In fact, I've wanted to write for a while.


For those who don't know, The Daley Mail started as my finsta (fake insta) & I LOVED it. I posted ALL of the unfiltered parts of my life. The real, the messy, the funny, the ugly. Every single bit of it.


& I loved it.


For a while.


Until I couldn't keep up with it anymore.


All of a sudden, I didn't feel funny anymore. My captions weren't clever enough. My pictures weren't good enough.


& those are the exact things I was trying to avoid when I created the account.


So I've pondered for a while about just where things went wrong, & this is the conclusion I've come to: In the beginning (God created the heavens & the earth), everything I posted was for my own enjoyment. I laughed at myself first, which allowed others to laugh with me. Slowly, however, my "content" morphed into what I thought would garner the most likes or comments. (Kids, need I remind you, this is a FINSTA.. I have like 12 followers anyway. Who do I think I am??) ANYWHO, long story short, I wanted to be funny so others would like me. YIKES. YOWZA.


Now you're probably sitting there sipping your coffee (or tea or water, Chlo Chlo & Mary Ann I see you & I love you) thinking "HOME GIRL THEN WHY ARE YOU DOIN' THIS??" Or maybe you're not thinking that, I'm not sure. Truthfully I'm trying not to care what you're thinking, so jokes on all of us actually.


Well, here is exactly why I'm doing this. If you haven't been able to tell already, I'll just come right out & say it: I'm a MESS with a capital every letter, but in the middle of my mess, chaos & confusion I have a Father who is gracious & constant.


& He deserves all of the glory.


Sometimes I simply sit & reflect, & my mind is blown every time. Oftentimes I get so wrapped up in myself. I become consumed in my own life & my own schedule. I am FULL of messy. Yet the King of Kings looks down on ME with kindness & mercy in His eyes & calls me His own. WHAT THE HECK?!?!?!


That's why I'm writing. I want more than random blurry pictures. I want more than punny captions. I want more than like & comments. I want the Creator of the Universe to be glorified.


That got a wee bit deep & I am not sorry one bit, not one bit at all. Tee hee hee DEAL WITH IT.


 

In all honesty, college has been so good to me. Coming in, my number one prayer was to find good community, & boy did He PROVIDE!! Isn't it crazy how God actually answers prayers? It's almost like He promised us that or something.. #Wild I immediately got plugged in at Christian Challenge & found some absolute GEMS. My ROOTS group (freshman Bible study) has given me true friends. & don't even get me started on our leaders. OH BROTHER. These gals have hearts for Jesus & it is so evident in everything they do.


Pause for a minute.


Chloe, Grace, & Erin: you're incredible. I just hope you know I appreciate the HECK outta you three & uh I apologize in advance if this turns into a shrine to you JUST KIDDING #Tender


Resume.


The other day at ~Vision Night~ #Fancy our group was talking about how powerful intentionality is & how easy it is to slip into seasons where truly pursuing Jesus is difficult. It's crazy how much of a difference it makes when I start my day out in the Word, specifically when I pray for opportunities to advance the Kingdom. Again, He provides. Absolutely insane. I ask & He faithfully answers. He loves us with an unconditional love & He sent someone to die to save us. What did we do to deserve that? Oh yeah.. NOTHING. & that's the hashtag truth of the Gospel.


My goal is to prayerfully & intentionally seek out opportunities to share His love with others, so I'll keep the ol' Daley Mail updated as far as that goes.


Basically, my goal is to highlight His perfect glory in the middle of my chaos. & I know I've said that about 100 billion times.


Pause again.


Go listen to that song.


Right Now.


So Will I (100 Billion X) By Hillsong United.


I cry.


"& as You speak, a hundred billion galaxies are born. In the vapor of Your breath the planets form. If the stars were made to worship, so will I."


Wow.


The lyrics are beautiful, & they are so full of the most beautiful picture of who our Creator is. I encourage you to take a moment & reflect on the lyrics. This is my prayer. If the stars were made to worship, so will I.


Resume.


As I continue to experience His grace, I plan on writing out my real life experiences. For now, however, I'm going to bed.


Love you (probably) I'M JUST KIDDING OF COURSE I LOVE YOU, I WANT TO EXTEND TO OTHERS THE LOVE HE EXTENDS TOWARD ME!!


So yes. I love you,


Allison

in case you live under a rock, PLEASE meet Chloe, Grace, & Erin :))))

211 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

just behold Him

Hi everyone! I’m back, and I promise this won’t be another 26 minute read. I mean I could probably find that many words again in a heartbeat, but I'll keep this short and sweet. I just have a few thou

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page