top of page
Search

i gOT a tAtTOo

Updated: Nov 6, 2019

The fact that I got a tattoo is likely not a news flash for many of you. However, I want to write about things I'm passionate about, & the six little arrows on the inside of my left arm happen to be one of those things.


Alright brethren, I'm not here to preach to you about whether or not Christians should get tattoos. There are a gazillion articles out there that will try and convince you one way or another. I'm just here to talk about mine, & the impact that that little sucker has had on my life.


First of all, what the heck did I have inked on my body for all of my existence on Earth? (I had to remind myself of this wee little fact several times prior to entering the tattoo parlor in order to ensure I was actually down for this - turns out I WAS) As mentioned previously, I have six little arrows. The first arrow points up. Then there are two greater than symbols. Next comes a down arrow. The last two arrows are less than symbols.


When I was in the middle of all of my major changes, I kept cycling back to one verse. I'm not entirely sure where I found this verse if I'm being honest, but it kept wrecking me. I mean WRECKING me. (Think the Jesus kind of wrecking, not the Miley Cyrus kind.)


John 3:30 says this: "He must become greater, & I must become less"


This became my prayer.


More of You, God, less of me.


This verse comes from the passage where both Jesus & John the Baptist are baptizing people. Someone comes up to John & asks him why what he's doing is a little different. & he says this simple, yet incredibly powerful phrase.


He must increase, & I must decrease.


More of You & less of me.


I discovered that when I tried to control my own life, it wasn't controlled very well. You see, precisely when I tried to exercise control the MOST was when I seemed to LOSE control the most.


Hold on.


You're telling me that when I hand over my life to the One who placed the stars in the sky things will go better?? Huh... Crazy how He actually knows what He's doing up there...


So I did what any ol' average human being would do. I got a tattoo.


I got a tattoo as a constant reminder that He is in control. This is not just a statement I wear on my arm, it is the mission of my life. I want everything that I do to reflect Him & His glory & I want nothing that I do to be for myself. & the best part? Whenever I am feeling discouraged, I need only glance down at my left arm to be reminded of His glory, grace, and goodness.


Another thing I love about my tattoo: it is an INCREDIBLE opportunity for ministry. Because it is only six simple arrows, almost NO ONE knows what it means.


Which means...


Wait for it...


PEOPLE ASK ME ABOUT IT & I GET TO TALK ABOUT IT!!!!!!


I'm not sitting here trying to hate on tattoos that have crosses, Bible verses, or anything else that is visibly related to God. However, since mine is not obvious, people are much more likely to ask.


I'm not saying don't get tattoos that scream Jesus, because trust me, His name is worth screaming. A thousand times. Mine has just been an incredible opportunity to talk about His unending grace, which happens to be a BEAUTIFUL segue into the Gospel.


I've gotten to have some pretty deep conversations with people I barely know all because they were curious about my little arrows. However, in case you thought for a second I had it all together, I'm here to tell you that just as many conversations have gone poorly as have gone successfully.


But guess what?


Ding ding ding we have a winner, & even in the middle of my shortcomings it's still the Father.


I have a story, but in order for it to make sense I've got to tell you what my job is. I work through the athletic-academic department, & basically what I do is make sure that the football boys go to class. I have a schedule that has a few of them on it, & every time they go to class, I do too. I wait outside the door & then when they show up they sign my clipboard & they're good to go.


ANYWHO I've become friends with a couple of them, so sometimes they'll sit outside & talk to me for a little while. Shortly after getting ~inked~ one of them asked me what my tattoo meant. I told him about John, & then I finished by saying, "basically I want everything that I do to be about Him, & nothing that I do to be about me."


This boy looked at me, said, "why the **H-E-double hockey sticks** would you want that," & walked straight through the doors of Bluemont 101 before I had time to process what he said, let alone reply.


Guys, I CARE about this kid. It's not like he's a random stranger, I spend a lot of time with him. For a long time I pondered what I could have done differently. What could I have done to make this interaction better? I failed.


Or at least that's what I thought.. Then it hit me.


I wouldn't do anything differently.


I had the opportunity to share Christ with someone, & that's exactly what I did. I cannot control whether or not he responds the way I wanted him to.


I got so wrapped up in my own shortcomings, I forgot to recognize that God was at work amongst the mess. Too often I try to BE the Spirit. I try to change people's hearts by my own words, & it turns out that is just not the way He works. He does everything in His own perfect timing, & it's my job to trust that.


Oh look, another story about me trying to be in control... I think I'm noticing a theme here...


Ever since that conversation with that football boy, I have tried to be the living, walking hands & feet of Jesus for him. It is my hope that he can see Jesus through me, not only in the conversation we had regarding my tattoo, but also in the way I live my life.


I'd be lying if I told you it was easy.


Jesus didn't tell us it would be easy.


Right now I'm working on laying down my own pride in order to help a friend, this football player, see Jesus in full & it's straight up NOT easy. Even when I try my hardest I slip up & make mistakes. It's not even FUNNY how far from perfect I am.


BUT GOD IS GOOD & HIS MERCY FLOWS THROUGH THE MIDDLE OF THE CHAOS ANYWAY!!!!!!! Everything happens in HIS perfect timing. Not my timing. HIS.


All of this to say, the six arrows on my arm have taught me a lot, & they serve as a constant reminder of exactly who I'm serving & why I'm serving Him.


this was taken shortly after my tat was permanently engraved on my body lol

330 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

just behold Him

Hi everyone! I’m back, and I promise this won’t be another 26 minute read. I mean I could probably find that many words again in a heartbeat, but I'll keep this short and sweet. I just have a few thou

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page